napis_patriot_travel.png
ICQ: 150637758 | PHONE: +420 233 344 979 | EMAIL: PATRIOT@PATRIOT-TRAVEL.CZ
tours.png

Tours

napis_guided_tours.png napis_prague.png

TOURS IN PRAGUE

 

 

LESSER TOWN, PETRIN HILL, VYSEHAD FORT TOUR WITH CAR/VAN SUPPORT

approx. 4 hours

 

The Lesser Town was founded in 1257 on the slopes below the Prague castle and it is the part of Prague least affected by recent history.

 


NERUDA STREET

 

Named after the poet and journalist Jan Neruda, who lived at No 47 in the House of Two Suns, it is the picturesque narrow street that leads up to Prague castle as a part of Royal Way. There is a splendid selection of heraldic emblems on the houses, for example the Red Eagle, the Three Fiddles, the Golden Horseshoe, the Green Lobster and the White Swan.

There are also a number of grand Baroque buildings, such as the Thun-Hohenstain Palace, the Morzin Palace, and the Church of Our Lady of Unceasing Succour.

 


Lesser Town Square

 

Started as a market place it has always been the centre of life in the Lesser Town with official buildings and restaurants. The important buildings include the St Nicholas Church, the Town Hall, the Sternberg Palace, and the Smiricky Palace. On the facade of the Baroque Kaiserstain Palace there is a bust of the great Czech soprano Emma Destinn.

 


St Nicholas Church

 

It is the dominant of the Lesser Town Square and one of central Europe's finest baroque buildings begun by Kristof Dientzenhofer, continued by his son Kilian and finished by Anselmo Lurago. The statues, frescos and paintings inside the church are by leading artists of the day, such as Karel Skreta and Johann Kracker.

 


Kampa Island

 

Known as the Venice of Prague Kampa Island has been formed by a branch of the River Vltava called the Devil's Stream. Originally there were gardens only on the island but it was also used for washing clothes and bleaching linen. In the 17th century the island became well known for its pottery markets. It is an elegant part of Prague with a village-like character.

 


Petrin Hill

 

With a height of 318 m the Petrin Hill is a network of eight parks offering magnificent panoramas of Prague. Most of the vineyards from the 12th century were transformed into gardens and orchards by the 18th century and today it is a great place for quiet walks easily accessible from Hradcany and Strahov or by funicular railway from Ujezd. Up the hill there is the Stefanik Observatory, the 60m high Observation Tower – an imitation of the Eiffel Tower, the Hunger Wall that was built by the poor of the city in return for food in the 14th century, the Mirror Maze, the Church of St Lawrence and the wooden Church of St Michael.

 


Vysehrad fort

 

This was originally Chrasten Castle, which was established at some time in the 10th century, that also became a Premyslids mint and the first Czech King Vratislav even dwelled here for a while. Vysehrad's importance was diminishing from the second half of the 12th century and most of the buildings were destroyed when the Hussites defeated Zikmund. It was finally rebuilt into a Baroque fort after 1650.

There are many historical buildings in the Vysehrad complex. For example St. Peter and Pavel Capitular Cathedral, St. Martin Romanic Rotunda, cemetery with Slavin, casemates of the Baroque fort, foundations and remains of Romanic and Gothic buildings as well as constructions from recent times.

Vysehrad also offers extensive parks with sculptures, views over Prague and a summer amphitheatre. The Vysehrad Gallery exhibits paintings, sculptures and photography. This place is veiled with many very old legends.